Seibukan Jujutsu Martial Art Kancho and Adam long

The Seibukan Jujutsu promotion system is unique among other systems.  The categories of rank follow the hierarchy of the traditional martial arts systems, but in contrast to these systems, Seibukan Jujutsu’s teaching structure is based on a progressive building-block model.  The step-by-step progression of requirements is geared to the needs of modern times.  This structure allows students to set goals, gain security in themselves, accelerate their learning, advance at their own pace and finally, experience their full potential.

The structure is divided into two categories: Kyu and Dan.  The kyu levels apply  to students called “Mudansha”, who have not yet attained the first level of black belt.  Unlike many traditional systems, there is no time requirement for testing between kyu levels.  The student is encouraged to approach a black belt for guidance when preparing for testing or requesting a pre-test.  After the pre-test, and upon the evaluation by the black belt, the student may be recommended to Sensei, for demonstration of the mental and physical requirements of that level.  The dan levels refer to students who hold black-belt rank. They are known as “Yudansha”. A minimum of one year is required to achieve black belt level and each level thereafter.  Some exceptions are the students in the Uchideshi Program that they can be prompted to the next black-belt level in a minimum of 6 months. The other exceptions are the students who are black-belt in other type of martial arts prior to joining Seibukan Jujutsu system that they can be promoted to the level of Shodan in 6 months since the time of enrollment.  All written requirements must be completed and turned in to the chief instructor, before pre-testing is performed.

In Seibukan Jujutsu there are six kyu levels and seven dan levels.  Each level has a theme woven through the information to be learned.  After completing the Seventh Dan and final level, the student will have attained the depth and skill as well as all technical knowledge of principles in the system.  This provides a  solid base from which one can continue discovering more on a physical and spiritual path, experiencing transformations and a world of possibilities. Students choosing to go on and teach Seibukan Jujutsu in their own locations will be awarded the ranks of 8th (Renshi), 9th (Kyoshi) and 10th dan (Hanshi). A minimum of two years active teaching is required to achieve each of these levels.

Beginning students come in as Rokkyu, white belt.  The student is given a list  of requirements and is instructed and guided in their progress through the levels.  Each student is different, therefore it is important to find your own pace of learning.  Traditionally the senior students (sempai) sit on the right side at the beginning and end of class.  The junior students (kohai) sit on the left side.  This format allows the senior students to practice teaching skills and allows the junior students access to those with more knowledge to further their learning.  The support, commitment and teaching abilities of senior students will quickly become obvious to the new students in the Dojo.

Kyu and Dan levels, Translation, Belt Color, and Shihan titles

MUDANSHA: (levels below black belt)

ROKKYU – Sixth Level – White Belt

GOKYU – Fifth Level – Yellow Belt

YONKYU – Fourth Level – Green Belt

SANKYU – Third Level – Green Belt

NIKYU – Second Level – Brown Belt

IKKYU – First Level – Brown Belt

YUDANSHA: (black belt levels)

SHODAN – 1st Degree – Black Belt

NIDAN – 2nd Degree – Black Belt

SANDAN – 3rd Degree – Black Belt

YONDAN – 4th Degree – Black Belt

GODAN – 5th Degree – Black Belt – Shihan Dai

ROKUDAN – 6th Degree – Black Belt – Shihan

NANADAN – 7th Degree – Black Belt – Menkyo Kaiden Shihan

HACHIDAN – 8th Degree – Black Belt – Renshi

KUDAN – 9th Degree – Black Belt – Kyoshi

JUDAN 10th Degree  – Black Belt  – Hanshi